a love letter to my liver (or, fatty liver after breast cancer treatment)

Oh liver, why so gray? The other organs bounce bright white light around the C/T screen, but you, you sit there with fat throughout, listless.  Dull and aching.  Is it because you miss your friend estradiol?  Was it the short dance with tamoxifen?

“Kidneys, heart, pancreas — all beautiful,” the radiologist said.  I want you to be beautiful too, to shine.

What would make you happier? Regenerate?  A year ago you were fighting a benign tumor, now gone.  But this, this new state of grayness, not good my friend, not good.

So here’s what I promise you: canteens of clear water.  Exercise that makes the blood sing.  Fish oils.  The lecithin I crave (those “little nuts that taste like butter”).  More of the fruits and vegies that make everything better.  Fatty foods, eschewed.  Dairy, already gone.  Sylmarin, if it will help.  Astragalus, the same.  But my dear, I have to ask – the fear-assuaging zoladex and femara, do they too have to go?

1 Comment

Filed under breast cancer

One response to “a love letter to my liver (or, fatty liver after breast cancer treatment)

  1. Mary Wallace

    Hello! Try basic low-fat diet and Vitamin E for fatty liver. 🙂 Email me. ((HUGS!!))

Leave a Reply

