Taking the summer off…

…from medical stuff if I can! First the good news, no, make that great news: we know that there’s no cancer recurrence in my brain, bones, liver or above the knees. Bad news for my readers: chemo-flashbacks are giving me a severe aversion to being online. This is the time last year when I was going through chemo, and the sight of my laptop almost makes me want to throw it out the window. Of course, I won’t, but the feeling is that intense.

The other good news is that my garden is growing so well. All I want to do is be outside. And I completely adore the fact that I CAN be outside. (Last year chemo made me photosensitive.) One of these days I’ll post pictures, but overall I’m pretty focused on planting and being social, so the best way to see the pics is to come visit. Be well, and make the most of every moment you have, even if it’s just lazing around the garden…. I’ll be back in the fall with updates. Until then, if you know me well enough to have my phone #, please call, or if you email, I may get to the email within a week, or two….. As there are very important things to do, like swimming! And getting Vit D the old-fashioned way.

Off to wash the strawberries we just picked…

6 Comments

Filed under breast cancer

6 responses to “Taking the summer off…

  1. Glad you are enjoying some time off. Hope you have a wonderful summer! 🙂

  2. Hello!

    I found your blog while looking up resources for breast cancer patients, and thought you might be interested in a woman who’s taken a pretty unique path in her own cancer battle. Meg Gaffney is a nurse, and when she was diagnosed with breast cancer, she decided to skip chemotherapy and radiation, and go right to a bilateral mastectomy. But when her plastic surgeon recommended a skin graft surgery to build up new nipples, she decided to incorporate art into her own personal healing process.

    For Meg, that means getting nipples tattooed onto her body instead of the graft surgery, and now — after months of searching for an artist willing to take on her challenge — she’s about to get the work done!

    We’re 8 parts into a documentary on Meg, which is featured on GrowingBolder.com. I’d love for you to check it out and let me know what you think!

    http://growingbolder.com/media/health/cancer/confronting-cancer-part-8-181742.html

    Meg is dynamic, creative, and completely committed to ridding the world of cancer, and her spirit is contagious.

    Thanks for your time, and best luck in your own journey!

    Katy Widrick
    Executive Producer, GrowingBolder.com
    katy@growingbolder.com
    407-362-8237

  3. drtombibey

    Hey, Doc Bibey here. Just cruising around to catch up with blog friends. GREAT news! (fine summer pictures too)

    Dr. B

  4. hope that your summer was blissful…miss you at liver families…but understand that life is here to be lived…glad you are doing just that.

    jen

  5. Kim

    My name is Kim and I am working with the American Cancer Society on a new project that will give newly diagnosed cancer patients access to ACS’s “Patient Navigators” online, through a chat window. It’s a free service and we’d like to expand the program if there is a good response. Considering your readership, I was hoping you would consider making a post to let readers know it exists? The landing page is at: http://acs-gwd.zodeca.com/chatform2.aspx if you want to check it out. My email address is acsgreatwest@gmail.com if you would like to email me directly.
    Thanks so much,
    Kim

  6. I just stumbled upon your blog, and was encouraged by your good news. I hope your summer was wonderful, and that you are now enjoying autumn in your beloved garden. I just learned of my own Stage IV breast cancer this past April, and have had good results in my treatment. One of the first things I did at as my chemo came to an end was to overhaul my own garden and it has brought me so much joy!

    So, fellow gardener, enjoy yourself and your life!

    Blessings,
    Lori
    http://www.lorimoon.com

Leave a Reply

