Breast cancer sailing retreat in the Caribbean

Remember all the times during treatment when I said I might just take off and go to the Bahamas instead? Check this out: Selah Sail. (So it’s the British Virgin Islands.  Close enough.) Oh I wish I’d known about this in time: Feb 2008 would have been a perfect time to go. The organization is new, here in Portland, and I found out about it through a counselor when I was on another retreat out at Menucha (sponsored by Cancer Care Resources). If you hear of other healing retreats, please let me know. I’m on the list for Casting for Recovery, and Harmony Hill was wonderful.

I have to say that I love having meals prepared for me (happy to help as well), and eating in a social setting. And walking to meals, and sitting by fires. And being outside. All very relaxing, on a deep level.

Also worthy of mention is the Quest Center‘s Eating to Beat Breast Cancer class -vegan cooking at it’s very very best. Enjoying that one thoroughly.

If one has to deal with the ickiness of cancer, there have got to be perks, right?! 🙂 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under breast cancer

4 responses to “Breast cancer sailing retreat in the Caribbean

  1. drtombibey

    Hey Dr. Bibey here. I love this post. I ain’t your doc, so I do not have the data base to predict anything, but I can tell you I love to see patients with the chutzpah to stare the cancer beast down and keep at life. They are are the ones I feel like have the best shot to sit on the Nursing Home porch with me someday and tell old war stories. Best of luck to ya.

    Dr. B

  2. Thanks Dr B! Haven’t kicked the bucket yet (and hopefully won’t for a long long time), might as well make the most of the time I’ve got, right?! And hope to see you on that porch someday – I’ll know you, you’ll be the one playin’ bluegrass. 🙂 I do so enjoy your blog BTW.

  3. drtombibey

    That’s exactly right! Dr. B

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday Blog! « Imagine Bright Futures II

Leave a Reply

