the, ahem, hair-do

BTW – I know I longed for hair when I was bald, I know I wished for it daily, but sheesh, I should have been more specific in my wishes. Ok, powers-that-be, here is the genie-specific wish: I wish for PRETTY hair (in the places it’s supposed to be only, please). Preferably the same pretty blonde straight hair I had as a kid. MY hair.This hair, well, every morning I straighten it the best that I know how so that I won’t look like Kramer (inevitably by about 4 pm I look in the mirror and am in for quite the shock, the Kramer-do), and by the time I wake up the next day, it’s turned into tight little poodle curls!! Sigh….at least I start the day laughing, right? I mean sheesh. Whose hair is this anyways?!!!

Yesterday I just gave up, I was running late and went out looking overly permed, only – no perm. I’m beginning to hate looking in the mirror – don’t get me wrong, I’m very grateful to be here in the world, to be alive and all, but, I don’t look like me. So the normal identity crisis after cancer (who am I after cancer, will it come back, how do I want to live my life?) is compounded by the fact that I have this crazy poodle-Kramer hair.

Which BTW is only 2 inches long. And no hairdresser will touch it yet. I’ve asked and asked, and they all say a polite version of “there’s really no point, just wait. ” Good for the funny-bone and the budget, but the ego….ah well. So it goes.

3 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, humor, quality of life, recovery

3 responses to “the, ahem, hair-do

  1. Renee G

    Of all the cancer blogs I have read since my diagnosis of IDC back in July 07, yours is the one that has touched me the most. You have quite a sense of humor and more than that, I love that you don’t sugarcoat the many downsides of cancer. I send you wishes for many happy days ahead, and a whole bunch more for your Mom. Signed, another grumpy, but humble cancer “WARRIOR” 🙂

  2. mariana

    what the heck is she talking about???

    your hair is the most gorgeous I have seen on your head, I saw it so I know!! You just went through an extraordinary experience, why would you expect or want ordinary hair??

    Let your freak flag fly I say!

  3. sprucehillfarm

    Try and use straitening curl cream. It should help a bit. Also leave as much conditioner in your hair as possible after you wash it. This really helps with unruly hair. There are a lot of good products out there to help with really curly hair. Hang in there before long it will be long and
    curly-beautiful!

Leave a Reply

