the $34,000 hair cut

It keeps happening: total strangers come up to me in public and say, “Your hair is so cute!”

My response to date has been a sort 0f jaw-dropped, you’ve-got-to-be-kidding response:

“Chemo…..I got this hair through chemo.”

(Implying that in a million years I never would have chosen this haircut. Or actually not a cut, it’s only grown in, as the hair dressers keep shooing me away, saying “Wait, just wait a bit.”)

My other options, “Why thank you, it’s my $34,000 haircut.”

Can’t wait for someone to ask, “Who is your hairdresser?”

“Cancer.”

“Chemo.”

But then dropping the c-bomb in public isn’t the nicest thing to do, so I guess I need to learn to nod and go with the more innocuous, “Why aren’t you sweet. Yes, short hair is so easy to take care of!”

And yes, I know that this post begs for a picture. It’s on the to-do list.

NB: One glorious part of life after cancer – all those pressing to-do lists, well, they just sit there while I do things that I get really absorbed in. One thing at a time. I didn’t even check my email the other day, I was so interested in what I was doing (work lately is pretty darn wonderful) it didn’t even occur to me. Call it the gift of focus. Big rocks first. 🙂 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under breast cancer, recovery

One response to “the $34,000 hair cut

  1. mariana

    maybe a camera-totin’ friend will soon visit and get a picture you can post of your glam do… 🙂

Leave a Reply

