well-being

I spent yesterday and today filled with this incredible sense of well-being. Not quite sure how to explain it – like a spring rising up from within and bubbling over, or like the top of my head is open and streaming light towards the sky, or some beam of positive energy is reaching down and pulling me up. A really amazing feeling, and I know it sounds odd, but do other people feel like this all the time? Is this what it feels like to be well? The word ebullient comes to mind. I’m satisfied, and happy, despite things that one would think would get me down. I’m just happy to be in the world, and for now, that’s enough.

Can it be as simple as the fact that it’s been sunny after days and days of grey?

Everyday I see friends, aquaintances etc. complain about the little things, but to me, the chance to experience those little things, it’s an incredible privilege. I know my perspective is this long term, big picture perspective right now, and maybe it’s out of whack, but it just feels amazing to have what feels like a decades-long perspective on the little things right now….And to have such a sense of faith in the universe on top of it, it sometimes makes me want to cry for the beauty of it all. Ok, now that I’ve descended into mush, I’ll stop. But life is good.

P.S. Pls send get well prayers and wishes towards my mom, that she gets through radiation treatments with few or minimal problems, and that those treatments do the trick of stopping any errant cancer cells in their tracks.

3 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, recovery

3 responses to “well-being

  1. Amy, you have learned the cancer lesson. Cancer lesson is to enjoy life to the fullest even the small things that have more meaning now than ever before. Welcome to God’s Grace.

  2. Jen

    Amanda,
    I’m so happy to read this post. I remember when you were investigating fibromyalgia as the source of why you felt so “crappy.” It really wasn’t that long ago, was it? Anyway, it is nice to read about your positive outlook and refound energy.
    Jen, mom of Grace & Meghan

  3. Amanda, this is exactly how I felt this weekend. It is an AMAZING feeling, isn’t it? I wasn’t sure I would ever find the “gift” in cancer, but I think this comes close. Keep on enjoying your time in the light and may this perspective stay with you!

    Hugs to you,
    LeeAnne

Leave a Reply

