bad news for my mom :( :( endometrial (or is it uterine?) cancer

Sigh. My mom had atypical endometrial hyperplasia, and so had a prophylactic hysterectomy today. And the docs found cancer cells, not the pre-cancerous cells that her biopsy reported. My sweet mom. DCIS breast cancer nine years ago and now this. I’m sad, and numb all at the same time. And I don’t even know what to call the type of cancer she has – is it uterine because it was in her uterus? Or is it endometrial, because it was in the endometrial lining of the uterus? Sigh…

And no, we are not positive for the BRCA 1 and 2 genes.

Here’s my public service announcement for the day: women who’ve had breast cancer are at higher risk for ovarian and uterine cancer. I was told that I would no longer see a normal gynecologist, that post cancer I’d see a gynecological oncologist. So if you’ve had cancer and you don’t have the latter doc on your medical team, time to get in with that doc.

Also, I’m thinking that my instinctive but yet puzzling abandonment of tamoxifen, which increases the chance of uterine cancer, may not have been a bad move, because my risk of uterine/endometrial cancer goes up now that my mom has it.

Imagine a whole lot of jumping up and down and screaming and swearing right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under breast cancer

Leave a Reply

