Theft

So this is the first day since last Friday that I actually felt well enough to go to work, and what happens?! Four kids (late teens, early 20s maybe) come into my workplace, ask to use the bathroom, distract me and steal my bank cards out of my purse. Luckily it wasn’t very long before I realized the cards were gone and I reported them stolen, but still. And they couldn’t charge very much because, hey, I work for a nonprofit and I’ve had cancer. I don’t have much room in my accounts (this is also thanks in part to the fact that I paid the lion’s share of my Nov. bills last week, thank goodness). Dumb them. But sheesh.

Couldn’t they have figured out that my extremely short hair with bald spots means that I’m recovering from cancer??? Stealing from me is like stealing from your grandma. It’s low. Thank goodness they didn’t take anything else, like my cell phone. And BTW, what the heck are they going to do with my AAA card and old car insurance card? The calling card is a write-off.

Ah well, the police officer who took the report was super nice. The Target security guy is going to call me back tomorrow, as they’re the ones who’ll bear the brunt of the $800 in charges the thieves rang up. And the 7-11 store where they bought gas? One word: video. The store owner does remember the transaction. Wish he had asked them for ID.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Theft

  1. Ugh. That really sucks. 😦

  2. OMG, Amanda, I am SO sorry this happened to you! You’re right: we should be immune.

  3. Liz

    That is unbelievable. I hope you get all your stuff back.

Leave a Reply

