Chemo costs – the final # is in

Here’s another post for the personal finance and cancer bloggers out there. Now that chemo is done and all the bills are in, I have the final numbers. For 8 rounds of chemo (4 of adriamycin/cytoxan and 4 of taxol), the grand total was…drumroll…: $90,709.

That’s what the oncology office charged. The break down:

  • $49,217 for 7 neulasta shots
  • $27,134 for “immun/inject” (stuff they put into my IV, including the taxol and a/c)
  • $11,840 for diag/tx (I assume this is for the nursing care & dr oversight of treatment)
  • $1,538 for office visits
  • $980 for labs

Insurance only paid part ($34,122.64) and the rest my docs wrote-off ($56,586.36). Plus, I paid $708 in coinsurance etc. (well, actually the CoPay Relief Foundation paid $543 or so and I paid the remainder). So the grand total that my docs rec’d was closer to $35K.

Considering the cost for my health insurance is $306.48 a month, that seems like a really good deal to me.

Note that the cost of the port placement and removal is not included here (about $15K, I think, still waiting for the bills to come in), and I consider that a chemo cost though the various foundations helping me with bills do not. Sigh…

2 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, chemo, costs

2 responses to “Chemo costs – the final # is in

  1. Lynn

    So sorry you had to go through this! What our country needs is a national healthcare plan so that sick Americans do not have to go bankrupt or become sicker with worry and stress because they do not know how they are going to pay.

  2. Pingback: the $34,000 hair cut « Imagine Bright Futures II

Leave a Reply

