Port out!

So happy to get my port-a-cath out. My neck no longer aches when I raise my left arm, so that’s great!

I called my friend Lizzy to say I was getting my port out, and she said, “What, you’re drinking alcohol? Celebrating with port?” Lol, silly bean. Though it is a thought, I haven’t had port for years.

General anesthesia is always such a strange experience. There I was in the operating room, staring at the very big lamps, talking to the docs about getting a warm towel for my bald head (operating rooms are cold!!) and then they put the “oxygen”mask over my faces, told me to take deep 8 breaths, and next thing I know I’m in a different room being told that the operation was over. Bizarre. Luckily taking a port out takes minutes, so my throat isn’t sore from the breathing tube, my lungs feel fine, etc.

Coming down off of the general anesthesia is a little strange – wired turning into plain ‘ol tired. The bandage comes off in 48 hours. One foot in front of the other.

3 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, chemo, quality of life, recovery

3 responses to “Port out!

  1. Hi,
    I am new to your blog. Thanks for sharing your story with such honesty.

    I’d like to invite you to share it at my website too, if you like. We are joining together for the month of October to try an provide support to those people who’ve had their lives touched by breast cancer. You could tell your story there as well.

    Thanks for considering the invitation.

    I’ll be reading you again soon.
    M

  2. Congratulations on getting your port out. I have never had one but I’ve read stories about how uncomfortable they are.

    I hope you continue to do well and I’ll be thinking of you and sending out good vibes.
    Peace and no ports!
    ~ RS ~

  3. goodness. what i got my port in they did a local anesthesia only. i HATED it – was so traumatic! luckily when it came out it was during my reconstruction so i was under then. bleah. PAC be gone!

Leave a Reply

