4 weeks treatment free, oh my

As I am once again immersed in the mundane of the chemoverse (nausea and chemo-induced bone pain), I am counting my blessings that this is the last chemo-recovery week I have to go through! This week is no fun at all, next week will be much better. I so want to celebrate, but feel crummy.

Met with my oncologist yesterday re: graduating from chemo. I’ll see him in 3 months – quite a change from every 2 weeks.

I did decide to take tamoxifen – it’s a slam dunk in terms of decreasing the chance of recurrence – 9% or something like that. Let’s hope I can tolerate it. I start in 6 weeks or so. Some foods are contraindicated with tamoxifen – for example, no soy and no flax oil.

Next decision is whether to do radiation or not. I meet w/ my 2nd opinion rads onc on Monday. If I do rads, it starts 6-8 weeks after the last chemo treatment. So once I recover somewhat from the very last round of chemo, which usually takes 10-14 days, then I’ll have a whole 4 weeks when I don’t have to do anything. If I want, I can get my port out, which is very tempting, but the idea of 4 whole weeks with nothing traumatic or invasive is so appealing I might just hold off on that minor surgery.

Naturopath gave me a post-chemo cleansing diet to start in two weeks: whole foods, cooked. Preferably warm. No land animals, no soy, no dairy, no sugar, just lots of easy-to-digest cooked grains, vegies and fruit. And a green drink in the mornings. Lots of water. Soups. But no big raw salads, no raw foods for now – my digestive track cells have to regrow, so the goal is to help it all along as gently as can be.

Other items on my list for the next month: physical therapy, acupuncture, cranio-sacral therapy, the personal fitness program at Cancer Care Resources (free), yoga for cancer recovery (free), walking, swimming at Oxbow park (when it warms up), shopping at local farmers markets and catching up at work. And getting all this chemo out of my system!

5 Comments

Filed under chemo, quality of life, recovery

5 responses to “4 weeks treatment free, oh my

  1. I just wanted to say hey, girl, I’m thinking about you today. I was in a horrible car wreck last summer, a drunk driver hit me, totalled my car, I’ve been carless since, not a bad way to be. But I shattered two disks in my back and life has been strange since. Not as disruptive as yours, for sure, but I know what it is to see acupuncturists, naturopaths, to search for meaning beyond what one feels in any given moment.

    I love my green drink, too. I take NanoGreens. It’s kinda pricey, but I swear I feel less pain after I take it. It tastes yummy too, not completely grassy, a mix of grass (LOL) and banana and mango.

    xo!

  2. Thanks Birdie! So sorry to hear about your car accident…I hope that you’re recovering well. I remember recovering from a much lighter version of that kind of injury years ago – I would have paid anything just to be able to take a break and feel like my old pain-free self even for a few hours. It was the unrelentingness of it all that got to me, and it IS strangely disruptive…but despite it all, even given my current experience, I’m a firm believer in lemonade 😉 …because what I remember from this summer isn’t so much the misery, but the bright moments that distracted me, that brought me back to the essential and joyous – dipping my toe in the Sandy river, reconnecting with long-lost friends, reading under the covers with Katie….

    Thanks so much for your comment BTW, because now in writing this and remembering the good things my present misery just became more bearable. Because it’s not all bad, not all hard. And thank goodness for blogging!

    Thanks too for the NanoGreens tip…sounds great 🙂

    Hugs,

  3. Yeah you for being DONE! I am so happy for you!

  4. Lillian

    Hi…why is flaxoil contraindicated with tamoxifen? Does it depend on the type of breast cancer? Recent study showed that flaxseed (not just oil) increased tamoxifen effects…here is the reference…

    Clinical Cancer Research 2004 vol 10 7703-7711.
    Dietary flaxseed enhances the inhibitory effect of tamoxifen on the growth of estrogen-dependent human breast cancer (MCF-7) in nude mice.
    Chen J, Hui E, Ip T & Thompson LU

  5. Hi Lillian – re: flaxseed oil – Going to have to find my notes and make sure I got it right…and good for you for doing the research! Off to pubmed myself to look up tamoxifen.

Leave a Reply

