Una mas

As a close friend said, just one more to go! Taxol #3 was completely and blissfully uneventful – no breathing problems at all. Feet starting to turn red again, but hopefully more IV hydrocortisone will do the trick later today.

White and red blood cell counts are holding steady, platelets are back up to mid range, so that’s all good. Hematocrit and hemoglobin are below range – I’m anemic, but the naturopath said something about not taking iron with cancer and I forgot to ask the oncologist. Will ask today. The oncologist can prescribe a red-blood cell anemia booster if my hematocrit drops below 33, and it’s at 33.8. No wonder I’m tired, that’s the lowest it’s been in my adult life that I know of.

In the mean time I’m eating spinach salads, but red meat and chemo don’t mix, so the normal steak solution isn’t going to work. And I can’t take Vit C and bioflavinoids to help with iron uptake while on taxol. So I may be up a creek for the next two weeks….and the oncologist won’t order labs again until then. Though I suppose I could ask my PCP to do so in a week or so.

And the bone marrow production of everything is off, not quite sure how the counts are actually decent. But come late August as the **last** chemo wears off and I enter the detox stage of my summer, the bone marrow production will hopefully get back up to normal. This is just temporary. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, chemo, quality of life, tests

3 responses to “Una mas

  1. courtney

    You’re doing great, Amanda! I’m proud of you!

  2. Yeah you – only one more! And here’s to side effects being uber manageable this time ’round.

  3. Just wanted to say “You can do it!”

Leave a Reply

