Up all night

Sorry for not posting.  I’ve been a little wiped out.  Things finally turned for the better yesterday.  So I’ve had two days of okay as opposed to icky.  The good news is that the Adriamycin/Cytoxan stage of the chemo is over!

For the next 2 months, I’ll be getting a different type of chemo: Taxol.  It chases cancer cells and kills them in a different way than the other chemo did.  It’s complicated, but there are many different ways to kill a cancer cell, and typically chemo combos try a variety of strategies.  So, taking Taxol will keep increasing my chances of staying cancer free. 🙂

However,  Taxol is delivered in a substance that can cause highly allergic reactions, so, I get to take 5 steroid pills at 11 pm, and ANOTHER 5 at 5 am.  Did I mention that nighttime is when I like to SLEEP???  I know getting through the new chemo well is the top priority, but oh my.  I guess the good news is that I’ll be so wired from the steroids that I won’t notice how tired I am from the lack of sleep.;0

1 Comment

Filed under breast cancer, chemo, quality of life

One response to “Up all night

  1. HI, it’s Tannersmom from liverfamilies.
    I noticed you posting more on liverfamilies and thought maybe you were feeling better, so I came to check. It sounds like you are?
    I’m so glad you’re done with your first 4 rounds!! yippee. I’m so proud of you. I hope the Taxol is easier.
    I think of you often and hope you’re hanging in there.
    Your wig looks great, I’ve never seen a pic of you before and I couldn’t tell which one was you. Although, I can imagine that you’re gorgeous bald!

    Love and prayers, Megan

Leave a Reply

