So far, so good

Had my first A/C treatment on Thursday, definitely felt drugged, but the nausea meds work. Knock me out, but they work. So far, so good. I think my mom and I both expected something more dramatic – Friday morning I was fine and at home doing paperwork, and sent mom off to run her errands, and she said “Well, you haven’t exploded yet! So everything must be ok.” Which is how I felt, like something dramatically terrible was supposed to happen and it didn’t. No praying to the toilet even. 😉

She said I went grey a couple of times, and that my cheeks were flushed, but that she could see the life force flowing back in when I woke up from a nap. I was so happy to have her here – there’s nothing like your mom xoxoxo, ya know? Dads are pretty wonderful too, but he’s recovering from a knee operation and a virus, so maybe a different time.

Mom headed home today (day 3 of chemo), and Hallie took over this afternoon, cooked a yummy lamb roast, which I actually ate. Even had seconds. Fancy that, I didn’t expect to have an appetite at all. I’d been told food would taste funny after chemo, but no. It still tastes good!!

Hardest thing is buying comfort food without sugar or corn syrup in it. Oh my. Back to basics we go.

Knock on wood!

1 Comment

Filed under breast cancer, chemo, food, support

One response to “So far, so good

  1. Mary McLaughlin

    One down…..Glad to hear it was better than you expected. Comfort food w/o sugar???? I’ve never heard of such a thing.

    It sounds like you are in good spirits.

    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo,
    Mary

Leave a Reply

