With a little help from my friends :)

When I was first diagnosed with cancer (two days shy of a month ago, it seems like two years to me), I called my Aunt Nancy. She had invasive breast cancer when she was 38, she’s 63 now, she’s had two recurrences – she’s been through it all. So I really listened to what she had to say.

What she said, and I’m just paraphrasing from memory, is that people will come through for you that you never expected. And that some people that you expect to be there for you won’t be able to, so throw your expectations to the wind and open up your arms. Let everyone you’ve ever loved (or even just liked a whole lot) know, and the people who are able to be there for you will be.

And so Monday afternoon my friend Jeannie (who lives in Seattle), who I went to high-school with, dropped by, in tears, and hugged me for the longest time. And then we got through the tears and settled down to the business of how the heck am I going to get through this, and came down to the pragmatic: chemo requires that one drink a heck of a lot of water. 2-3 quarts a day. And I had this water filter that I bought a year ago but never installed, so we installed it. Jeannie and Alicia spent the afternoon hanging out under my kitchen sink. Not what I expected for entertaining guests, but hey, these days are different. LOL. I sat on the floor and read the directions, and a good time was had by all.

Here’s a photo of Jeannie watching the finished work carefully to make sure it doesn’t drip -notice the water filter to the right of the kitchen faucet. (Also notice the old system of the 6 jugs of filtered water.) I am one happy camper. Jeannie – thank you so much!!

2 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, support

2 responses to “With a little help from my friends :)

  1. courtney

    my first thought – what a beautiful home you have!

    second . . . hang in there! i’m telling everyone i know in the world about you and to get their boobs checked ASAP.

  2. Just checking in, seeing how you are doing. I’m keeping you in my thoughts and wishing you strength every day.

    And, yes, your undersink area is scarily clean and beautiful. Wow.

Leave a Reply

