Waking and the Mack Truck of Remembering

I woke up this morning and I had forgotten. What a glorious moment that is, the moment before you remember that something world shifting has happened. I wondered why the heck it felt like a Mack truck had hit my chest and underarm. Turns out it had been 12 whole hours without painkillers – thats a loooong time! I am slowly trying to wean myself off of Dilaudid even now (1 week today post surgery!), but as a friend said last night, if there’s anytime in your life that you should get to take morphine, it’s now.

Then I remembered the tumor is gone, and apart from the chest pain I actually feel better than I have for a long time. Naps, lots of sleep, 3 healthy meals and 2 walks a day will do that for you. And no sugar and no alcohol. Plus all the company and support. And the down time. So far so good!

2 Comments

Filed under breast cancer, surgery

2 responses to “Waking and the Mack Truck of Remembering

  1. Miles & Mira

    Amanda,

    We just read the update from the link on Katie’s site. I can’t tell you how sad we are that there is a second chapter to your family’s battle with health challenges.

    You have been inspirational to us over the past eight months as we have dealt with our daughter’s biliary atricia. She is ten months old today, three months out from transplant, and so far so good.

    Our warmest thoughts are with you. We will keep you in our prayers.

    Warmly,
    Miles & Mira

  2. Amanda,
    I’ve been so caught up in busy-ness and drama over here that I missed your post on LiverFamilies. Good grief, I feel like a terrible internet buddy. I wish I could send you some sort of roadblock to keep all those Mack trucks off your street, or off your chest, or wherever they are causing you troubles. Health and comfort and all good things to you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

